Tuesday, April 16, 2024

UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2020

Application Deadline: 15 February 2020

UNESCO invites the governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as international and regional professional non-governmental organizations, active in the field of press freedom, to nominate candidates for next year’s UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

This Prize was established by UNESCO’s Executive Board, in 1997, in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession. Its purpose is to reward each year a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if risks have been involved. 

Awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (3 May), the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000. In 2020, the Prize is scheduled to be awarded on 23 April.

World Press Freedom Day 2020 will take place in The Hague (Netherlands) from 22 to 24 April 2020.

The Prize is funded by the Cano Foundation (Colombia) and the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland).

How to submit your nomination:

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2020 by post or by email to: 

Communication and Information Sector
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development 
Section for Freedom of Expression
7, Place de Fontenoy 
75007 Paris 
E-mail: s.coudray@unesco.org (link sends e-mail)

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *